Toasted Almond Scones

Toasted Almond Scones (Adapted to Gluten-Free)    (recipe by Dorie Greenspan via the blog Living Out West as part of a Tuesdays with Dorie baking group)

When I first saw this recipe, I knew I had to make them.  I love almonds and toasting them makes them even more amazing.  However, since I’ve been watching my gluten intake, I set to work comparing this recipe to a gluten-free cream scones recipe from The Art of Gluten-Free Baking.  I had the flours on hand to mix up her all-purpose gluten-free flour mix and substituted this for the regular flour in Dorie’s recipe. 

Caution – if you do not like almonds, you will probably not like these scones; then again, they could be the very thing to convert you.  :)

These scones have a depth of flavor that is normally lacking in a breakfast pastry.  Not only do they have a hint of almond extract (I would put a little more in next time, I like the flavor a bit more pronounced), but they also contain chopped up toasted slivered almonds as well as finely ground toasted almonds to act as part of the flour.  I even went so far as to sub almond milk for the regular milk in the recipe.  They are topped with more slivered almonds (and I added a sprinkling of demerara sugar) before baking.  Nutty, chewy, and barely sweet, these scones turned out just lovely.

I was impressed with how easy the dough was to work with since gluten-free flours can be tricky.  This was perfectly soft and held together quite well (picture below is pre-baked).

The only thing I would change is to add a little more milk for moisture since I think the blend of gluten-free flours absorbed a little more than regular all-purpose flour would.  I would also use an egg wash on top, so the nuts stay in place after baking.

They are dense, but in a good, real British scone kind of way.  I loved the bits of almond peaking through the sides.  Paired with coffee or tea, these are a perfect start to your day or a satisfying afternoon snack. 

This entry was posted in Almond, Bread, Breakfast, Gluten Free and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toasted Almond Scones

  1. Yay! So fun! I love to see the recipes folks adapt using my flour mix. Also, I will have to try out that recipe–looks delish!

    • I have to thank you for your hard work in creating the flour mix and all your recipes! I have so many marked for future baking. Am I right in thinking it needs a little more moisture when swapping out GF flours directly in regular recipes? The directions indicated that the dough would be very sticky, but mine was pretty easy to handle, so I assumed it was the ratio.

Leave a Reply

