Slice of summer

A few months ago, I made this  Summer Fruit Bavarian cake adapted from Tartine.  It was a slice of pure heaven in the form of an updated, elegant strawberry shortcake.  Kind of like if strawberry shortcake were to get dressed up for the opera instead of simply accompanying me to a baby shower.  Between layers of the lightest lemon chiffon cake, there lies a lovely vanilla bean pastry cream that holds its own amidst upright strawberry halves.  I opted to not make a strawberry puree to spread on the cake layers, but instead let some finely chopped strawberries mascerate in a light sprinkling of sugar and spread this on the cakes before introducing the pastry cream. 

Resisting the urge to slice a piece right then and there, I followed the instructions to let it chill out in the fridge for at least overnight.  Oh, it is so worth it.  The cake becomes even more moist and light, the cream has a chance to set, and you top it all with freshly whipped, barely sweetened cream. 

Savor strawberry season and make this cake.  It only adds to a perfect summer fruit.

This entry was posted in Cake, Strawberries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Slice of summer

  1. this is making my mouth water. you need to write for a living!!

  2. Also, LOVE your blog header!

  3. Judy Miller says:

    Sounds and looks so yummy!

  4. Erika B. says:

    YUM!!! Looks delish to me! If you ever need a taste tester, I’m probably available…

  5. Niki Beers says:

    LOVE your blog!!!!! I have one too! halfadime.blogspot.com. I will soon start selling my cards on it! Keep posting cuz I am reading! 🙂

    • Thanks, Niki!! I think I can keep up with this one. 🙂 I already have a few things I can post backed up. I’ll add you to my blogroll and check it out. So exciting to be selling your cards!

Leave a Reply

