Sweet & spicy nirvana

Cinnamon Swirl Bread (recipe from Pinch my Salt, via 1973 Better Homes and Gardens Homemade Bread Cookbook)

This bread was perfect in every sense of the word.  The dough was soft and pliable, not too sweet.  The cinnamon swirl effortlessly wound its way through the loaf, its scent permeating every nook and cranny of the bread as well as my home.  The swirl itself is almost hypnotic, letting me know that I was in for something special before I even took a bite. 

I love the spicy sweet scent of cinnamon.  I used Saigon cinnamon and as far as I’m concerned, no other cinnamon need apply.  This cinnamon is naturally a little sweet and has a spicy undertone.  You can taste flavor that is lacking from your everday, run of the mill ground cinnamon.  There is a depth and richness I had not known this spice could possess. 

Lightly toasted and liberally buttered, this makes for a wonderful breakfast or midnight snack.  Even better is adding more cinnamon and sugar atop the butter laden slice before giving it a chance to crisp in the toaster.  The sugar and cinnamon become one and gives the candied top of crème brulée to your simple piece of toast.  I felt like I had stumbled upon a delicious secret.

This entry was posted in Bread, Cinnamon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet & spicy nirvana

  1. Please, please find it!

Leave a Reply

