Not quite baking, but definitely yummy

I’m still working on a couple other pics, etc, for the next sweet post, but this should get some salivary glands working in the mean time. 🙂

I made Ina Garten’s sweet, succulent Baked Shrimp Scampi for dinner last weekend.  Fresh shrimp were left to drink up some white wine, olive oil, salt, and pepper while a scrumptious compound butter was created.  I snipped fresh parsley and rosemary from my herb garden, just steps away from my back door.  Once chopped, they gave off the fragrance of a summer in Italy – at least in my mind, as I have yet to go to Italy.  Freshly minced garlic is always a welcome scent in our house and it mingled with the herbs to create a lovely beginning to the flavor of this dish. 

I omitted the egg yolk as I halved the recipe and did not want to measure out half a yolk and also thought that the buttery crumb topping would be sufficient richness for this meal.  Once baked, I gave the shrimp a quick jaunt under the broiler, to help crisp the buttery herb and panko crumb topping.  Each bite of shrimp was juicier than the next and did not disappoint. 

I cheated on the pasta and used this.  It was a simple accompaniment, but also served as a nice and creamy accent to the shrimp and roasted asparagus.  I find asparagus to be the most flavorful when lightly drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, a light sprinkling of kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, all tossed to together and left to bake in a 400 degree oven for 8 min. until tender with a bite to it, never too soft – only perfect.  The garlic knots are equally as easy as I start with my local grocery store’s premade pizza dough.  Cut off small strips, rolled into a rope and tied in a knot.  Grate some fresh garlic into a bowl with a generous glug of extra virgin olive oil.  Toss the knots and put on a baking sheet and sprinkle with kosher salt.  Pop them into a 350 degree oven for 14-16 min. Once baked, throw them back into the bowl with the leftover garlic/olive oil mixture and toss again.  Serve alongside anything or by themselves.  They really are that good.  Little pretzel-like bites of salty garlic bread.  Seriously. Yum.

This entry was posted in Asparagus, Garlic, Main Dishes, Shrimp and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not quite baking, but definitely yummy

  1. Amanda says:

    We’ve made garlic knots before! Stole the idea from Johnny’s Pizza. Our mixture was garlic and melted butter! Mmm! What was for dessert?

  2. Deb says:

    Best garlic knots I’ve ever had were from New York Pizza Pub in OBX. I’d go back down there just for those.

Leave a Reply

