Pumpkin Scones

Pumpkin Scones (via Annie’s Eats which she adapted from Joy of Baking)

I absolutely love Fall and all that it brings with it…crisp, clear air, a gorgeous palette of vibrant colors atop the trees, cinnamon and spices, apple cider, and last but not least: pumpkin.  I love using pumpkin in a variety of ways and had yet to make scones.  Due to the pumpkin shortage last year, I made my own pumpkin puree.  Last week, I pulled some out of my freezer and set to work.

Homemade pureed pumpkin has more moisture than the canned version.  I chose not to compensate for this by either reducing the buttermilk or adding more flour and it left me with a very light and fluffy scone.  The flavor is subtle, but present.  I have found that canned puree is best kept for recipes that require a center stage pumpkin presence and homemade is perfect for a delicate, understated balance of flavors.

The sweet scent of ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg filled my kitchen and made me feel even more at home.  Spices have a way of doing that in the Fall.  I can burn a harvest scented candle in mid-August and my mind will think it’s 60 degrees outside and time for Thanksgiving. 😉  The glaze enhances the warmth from the spices by incorporating the same blend used in the scones.  Served warm, the glaze soaks into the top layer of the spicy sweet biscuit.  I savored my first scone fresh from the oven with some homemade spiced cider.  Fall is finally here and I intend to enjoy every minute of it.    

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cinnamon, Pumpkin. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Scones

  1. Jessie says:

    Did you use the butterscotch chips? Are these blatant in the scones, or subtle?

    • I didn’t use any chips, actually. I didn’t have any and also wasn’t sure if I wanted something quite that sweet for the first batch. I bet they’d be really good, though!

  2. Judy Miller says:

    You’ve convinced me! I’m ready to bite into one…

Leave a Reply

