Ooey, Gooey Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon Rolls (Mock Cinnabon Recipe via The Gordon Family, preserved on The Fresh Loaf)

It was Thanksgiving evening and my husband and I were at the grocery store picking up a few “necessary” items, aka. egg nog for him.  Pillsbury Grands cinnamon rolls caught his eye, beckoning to be bought and served the next morning for a sweet start to a luxorious day off avoiding the crowds of Black Friday shoppers.  The baker and the inner health nut (I keep that one pretty squelched during the holidays) could not let him succomb to packaged rolls in a can.  I offered to make cinnamon rolls from scratch, all I needed was bread flour and we were in business.  9pm found me in the kitchen wrapping the puffed dough and stashing it in the fridge to rest overnight.

Bright and early the next morning, I snuck downstairs and went to work rolling out the elastic dough, spreading it with soft butter, and topping it all with a very cinnamony brown sugar mixture.  Carefully, I rolled the dough doing my best to not let any of the cinnamon sugar escape out the ends.  It tried, but I showed it who was boss.

No cinnamon roll is complete without cream cheese frosting in my book.  What made this mock Cinnabon recipe more authentic aside from the extra cinnamon-y filling is this frosting.  It is whipped for much longer than I have patience for when cinnamon rolls are waiting. 😉  But the addition of a slight bit of lemon gives back the tang that the cream cheese loses after the sugar is mixed in, and you end up with a cooling, flavorful counterpart to the rolls that perfectly complements the warm and spicy cinnamon.

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Cinnamon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ooey, Gooey Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Judy Miller says:

    Yum! Wish I had had some!

Leave a Reply

