Decadent Chocolate Pudding

Chocolate Pudding (from Martha Stewart)

I’ve had this recipe on the back burner for quite awhile.  When we got word that work was going to be closed the next day due to snow, I was instantly in a mood for something rich and comforting.  I pulled out this recipe and set to work.  This is only a few more steps than pulling out the box of cook and serve pudding, but oh so much better.  It is a pudding in the truest sense, not a custard.  There are no eggs to add richness and change the flavor, this is pure chocolate and milk, baby.  It’s more of a thickened hot chocolate as corn starch is the only agent used to provide the right consistency.

Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder begins the chocoholic madness.  The darker, the better as far as I’m concerned.  I had a few ounces of Callebaut on hand to take the flavor to another level that only a true chocolate lover would appreciate.  The texture was perfectly smooth and silky as all pudding should be. 

I only had half and half and milk when I made this, but I’m sure the heavy cream would be absolutely amazing.  Of course, I didn’t feel guilty about eating it my way.  The only thing that was missing was (don’t hate me) a dollop of Cool Whip.  Yes, whipped cream is heavenly, but the kid in me still loves Cool Whip on my pudding.  However, seeing as how there were 4″ and counting of snow outside, I didn’t think it prudent to venture out for Cool Whip.  This dessert was enjoyed au naturale and I loved every spoonful.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decadent Chocolate Pudding

  1. Oh my goodness this looks soooo good! I’m going to give it a try with potato, arrowroot, or tapioca starch since we can’t have corn starch (thanks to bizarre allergies).

Leave a Reply

