Carrot Cake Pancakes

Carrot Cake Pancakes (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

When I saw this recipe that took carrot cake and converted it into pancake form, I knew I had to make them for breakfast ASAP. Joy the Baker is the mastermind behind this recipe, though I stumbled across it on Smitten Kitchen’s site.

I stayed true to the batter aspect of the recipe, but changed the cream cheese topping.  I opted for a lightly sweetened with brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla cream cheese “butter” that I smeared on each pancake before stacking and drowning my little tower in real maple syrup.  This proved to be the best combination of sweet and tart and is a technique I can’t wait to try with my pumpkin pancakes.

I love carrot cake.  The more cinnamon-y, the better in my opinion.  These pancakes retained the essence of a good carrot cake, though are much lighter and more moist.  The cinnamon cream cheese MADE these.  It elevated this humble carrot cake to a whole new level of deliciousness.  There’s just something about the way carrots, cinnamon, and cream cheese play together that perfectly complements each other.  Carrots are sweet, yet earthy.  Cinnamon is spicy and sweet.  Cream cheese balances all the sweet with just the right amount of tang that leaves your taste buds dancing and begging for more.  What could be better than dessert masquerading as breakfast?

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Pancakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

