The best chocolate chip cookies I have ever eaten

Brown Butter Toasted Coconut Espresso Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Joy the Baker and Annie’s Eats)

Yep. These cookies are a mouthful in more ways than one.  I should just call them “Awesome Cookies” or “The last chocolate chip cookie you’ll ever need,” but it doesn’t matter what you call them as long as you make them.   I basically made Joy the Baker’s recipe which is originally slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen.  I added the espresso component from the recipe on Annie’s Eats.

There is a lot going on in this cookie, but each element is necessary and imparts a particular flavor that marries beautifully with all the others.  To begin, butter is browned until just past golden – do not walk away when it starts to brown as it can (and will) go from perfect to disaster in a matter of seconds.  Trust me, I’ve saved butter from burning on more than one occasion as I tend to multitask when I shouldn’t.  Brown butter is a key component in adding a toasty, caramel aroma and flavor to a baked good.  It. is. heavenly.

While the butter browns, coconut is toasting away in the oven and at this point, my stomach was growling.  When you toast coconut, it transforms from a sweet and chewy product to a mellow, crisp addition.  Admittedly, I did not measure the coconut.  I poured about 1/2-3/4 c. on a baking sheet and went with it.  Because my husband is not a fan of coconut, I crushed the toasted coconut to essentially make a toasted coconut flour.  Doing so ensured evenly distributed flavor without having any chewy bits.  I love coconut and also preferred the even texture in the baked cookie.

Next up – espresso.  Add espresso powder to the dry ingredients.  The slightly bitter notes of espresso tone down the sweetness of the cookie and really puts these cookies over the top.  The espresso lingers on your tongue long after you eat the cookie.  It’s just perfect.

 

As far as the chocolate is concerned, I adore the pairing of Hershey’s Special Dark chips with this cookie.  I’m sure semi-sweet would be great as well, but the more intense, less sweet notes of dark chocolate just fit with the caramel, toasted flavors.   Every bite made my taste buds dance.  I converted my husband to the dark side of coconut in this cookie alone, but I call that a success.  Sometimes the most successful recipes are the ones that not only beckon people to try something new, but help them to appreciate and enjoy it.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

